21-Day Tummy (Diet): Preparations

About 2 months after I had my daughter, Ada, I started having some major issues with digestion.  My doctor thought that perhaps my hormones were playing some role in it since I was nursing Ada and hadn’t yet started my period again, and maybe that was part of it.  However, Ada is almost weaned.  My cycles started at least 6 months ago, and I’m having even worse symptoms than I was at the start.  Some days I’m so uncomfortable and in pain that I can’t sleep well at night, or I’m running to the bathroom all day.

When I read about the 21-Day Tummy diet in Reader’s Digest a few months ago, I thought this might be the diet for me.  I didn’t really care about the possibility of losing weight, though I’d of course like to, but to be rid of all my digestive problems?  Ahh, that would be magical.  To eat without worrying if it would make me feel gassy, bloated, and nauseous?  Delightful!

So I decided I would like to try this diet.  Of course, trying a new diet is not easy.  It takes time to plan meals and money to stock up on new foods.

I checked out the book from the library so that I could get the full view of the plan.  I made a list of all the foods I would need for the first 5 days of the plan–phase 1.  I’ve spent the last week buying some of the non-perishable food items on the list and buying some of the things that I could freeze or that are frozen.  This week, I’m going to try making a few of the recipes to see if I like them, and if I don’t, then I’ll take some time to create my own menu based on using the belly buddies and avoiding the belly bullies.  My goal is to start the diet by November 1st.  That way, I should be done with the whole plan before Thanksgiving.

Let’s try, then, to have our meals planned, our pantries and fridges stocked, our meals prepped for the week, and our minds focused and steadfast on doing this by the November 1st, or if you prefer to start on a Monday, November 3rd.  Comment to let me know that you’re going to try it out, too.  We’ll check in during the first week of November.  I hope you’ll try it out with me!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

