Having Enough

Towards the end of summer I read a book called Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God.  The main thing I remember from it was that the focus of everything in my life needs to be about God.  The author used an analogy that really resonated with me:  God is the star of the movie, and I’m just an extra that happens to show up in the background for 15 seconds.  From this, I really was able to understand that nothing about my role in this life is actually about me.  It’s all about God and how I can make him look good.

Shortly after that, I started to read Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead. (Did I mention that I love that my library has free lending for a large number of Kindle books?)  I only got through the first couple chapters, but the gist of what I read is that we live in a society that believes we never have enough.  We never have enough time, enough money, enough sleep, enough [fill in the blank].  And, of course, this greatly affects how happy we can be and perceive ourselves as being.

Having read these two books back to back, a connection began to form.  I’m definitely guilty of being part of the “not enough” culture, but when God becomes the focus, and we remember that Jesus said, “Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father keeps feeding them.  Are you not worth much more than they?” (Matthew 6: 26), then we should begin to understand and feel that we always have enough.  God always gives us enough.  We may want more.  More time would be nice.  More sleep would definitely be lovely.  More money might be nice, too, but we have enough.  If we trust God, then we have to trust that we lack nothing.  We have everything we need to survive.  When I finally reached that realization, I found more contentment than I’ve experienced in a long time.  Getting an hour and a half of sleep at night because of a sick baby normally would have made me angry, upset, and a little depressed.  However, I trusted that it would be enough to get me through the day and that an hour and a half was better than nothing.  I was content with what I got and thankful that I even had a beautiful baby to keep me up.

With the craziness and business of life, it’s certainly difficult to keep up the focus on God and to keep up positive thoughts.  Let’s try to remind ourselves every day, especially when we feel like something is lacking, when we catch ourselves thinking about needing/wanting more, to know and trust that we actually do have enough.  Maybe we just need to use what God has given us more wisely.

Please comment and share any ideas you having for staying focused on God and showing gratitude for having enough.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

