H20 Diet: Drink 1 glass of water when you wake up

So today, it’s back to work, which means back to waking up early, waking up before anyone else is up, so as much as I’d like to not have to work at times, I’m also glad for this morning time.  It gives me a chance to add some healthful things to my day.

Amazon has been offering the Kindle version of The H2O Diet: How to Eat, Exercise, Drink and Dream for free for awhile, so I decided to pick it up and give it a read.  Though I didn’t get very far into it, I did like that towards the beginning, there’s a nice step-by-step list.  The first step is drink 1 glass of water when you wake up.  I decided this was pretty easy to try, so I’ve been trying to make a habit of it, though when I wake up at the same time the children do, I’m usually busy getting their breakfasts and such to even think of doing it.  Now that I’ll be getting up (most mornings) before them, it’s time to add it back into the routine.

I get up.  I go to the bathroom, wash my face, brush my teeth and hair, and then go to the kitchen and fill a cup up with water.  I drink it while I’m checking my e-mail or packing my lunch for work.

I haven’t really noticed any difference in how I feel when I do it, but drinking more water during the day is not something that’s going to hurt me.  So I figure it’s a healthy habit to keep up.

Let’s try starting our day with a glass of water.  I’ve read that drinking cold water can help boost metabolism since the body has to work to warm it up, but after I brush my teeth, it’s difficult to drink ice water.  My teeth yell at me.  I’ve also heard drinking warm water with lemon is good in the morning, too.  Anyone tried either of these things?  I just drink cool filtered tap water.  Leave a comment to tell what you prefer and if you notice any difference when you drink water every morning.

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “H20 Diet: Drink 1 glass of water when you wake up”

  1. nadrenots says :

    Drinking a glass of water every morning works well, especially when followed by a run.

    Like

    • Sarah says :

      Well, yeah. I would imagine adding running to just about anything would show results. :p (Thanks for visiting the site, Dan. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

