Trying 21-Day Tummy Recipes

As I mentioned before, I’m preparing for starting the 21-Day Tummy diet by buying some of the nonperishables and frozens ahead of time and by trying out some of the recipes from the book.  The recipes I decided to try first were the smoothie recipes because during the first 5 days, you replace one meal, usually breakfast, with a smoothie.  The first day, I made a chocolate, peanut butter, and banana smoothie recipe from the book:

In a blender mix

  • 6 ounces of nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 Tablespoons light coconut milk (I used unsweetened So Delicious brand.)
  • 1 teaspoon of maple syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin seeds
  • 1 teaspoon of peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa
  • ice and water to get to desired consistency

It turned out to be a decent smoothie that I would probably repeat.

The second one I tried was a strawberry banana smoothie.  I altered the recipe in the book a bit because it called for blueberries and strawberries and rather than having just a strawberry smoothie since I didn’t have blueberries, I replaced it with banana.  It also called for almond butter, but I didn’t have any of it either (because it’s really expensive).  So I just used peanut butter again.  It also called for unsweetened cocoa, but I don’t like fruit and chocolate together.  So I, instead, put a little ginger in.

  • 6 ounces of nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • 2 Tablespoons light coconut milk (I used unsweetened So Delicious brand.)
  • 1 teaspoon of maple syrup
  • 1 Tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 teaspoon of peanut butter
  • a touch of fresh grated ginger
  • ice and water to get to desired consistency

Obviously, the combinations in the this smoothie are a little weird, but all the ingredients are belly buddies that help digestion.  This smoothie (pictured above) was okay, too.  Neither was as sweet as I usually make my smoothies, and the peanut butter taste really comes through, so it will take some adjusting.  However, I think a smoothie every morning is definitely doable.

P1060747

The other recipe I tried was “Mustard-Rubbed Pork Cutlet.”  It’s not a true recipe from the book.  It just gives these basic directions:  “Spread 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard on top of a 4-ounce boneless center cut pork chop, sprinkle with a dash of salt and paprika, and roast in the oven…”  And that’s exactly what I did x4.  I didn’t know what  temperature to cook it at or for how long, so I did 400 for 35 minutes.  They were very well done, so I probably could’ve cooked them at a bit lower temperature or for a shorter time.

I was skeptical that I would like them because I honestly do not like mustard.  However, they were absolutely delicious and super easy.  I was feeling sick, tired, and had the biggest headache but was still able to quickly get them together and into the oven.  Now, that’s a good recipe.

Let’s keep trying out recipes (and I’ll keep sharing some) and stocking up our kitchens for the 21-Day Tummy diet.  Remember the goal is to start by the first of November.  Honestly, I’ll probably start November 3rd, which is a Monday, so that I can use the weekend before to do some prep work.  I’ll keep you updated!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

