“Cod” with “Gremolata” Crust

Honestly, I had no idea what “Gremolata” was when I chose this particular fish recipe from the book Foods that Harm and Foods that Heal Cookbook: 250 Delicious Recipes to Beat Disease and Live Longer.  (Apparently, it’s a parsley, lemon zest, and garlic mixture.)  I really wanted to try one of the fish recipes for 21-Day Tummy diet since I had bought some frozen fish in preparation for the diet, but I didn’t have the necessary ingredients to do any of them.  Most of them just say to bake the fish, and then the recipe is for the topping (salsa or chutney) to put on top.  So I turned to another book that I got at the same time I picked up the 21-Day Tummy book since I had read about it a little also in Reader’s Digest and went searching for a fish recipe that wasn’t for salmon and that I had most of the ingredients for.

I found “Cod with Gremolata Crust” (p. 203).  I didn’t have cod, but I had tilapia.  I didn’t have breadcrumbs, but I had Panko.  I didn’t have a lemon that I could zest and get juice from, but I did have bottled lemon juice.  I didn’t have plum tomatoes or a fresh zucchini, but I did have cherry tomatoes and some frozen shredded zucchini cubes.  Close enough, so I made Tilapia with a Faux-Gremolata Crust.

P1060760

I didn’t measure anything, so I’ll just tell you the steps I took:

  1. I preheated the oven to 425 since that’s what the packaging of the fish called for.
  2. I lined a glass baking dish with foil and then coated the foil with coconut oil.
  3. I placed 3 frozen tilapia fillets in the dish and salted them.
  4. I rubbed some Dijon mustard on top (much like I did with the pork chops the other day), drizzled on some lemon juice, sprinkled on some dried parsley and the Panko crumbs, and added a little paprika.  (It had worked well with the pork chops, so I thought why not repeat?)
  5. I quartered the cherry tomatoes and spread them around.  Then, I added a few zucchini cubes.
  6. I covered it with foil and put it in the oven.  A few minutes later I realized I forgot to drizzle on some olive oil, so I took it back out, did that, and then returned it to the oven.
  7. I baked it for about 25 minutes.
  8. While it was baking, I made some rice in the microwave to go with it.  I also sliced up some avocado to put on top.

The verdict?  Ada (16-months old) loved the tomatoes.   She loved the avocado.  She loved the rice.  She ate some of the fish and didn’t throw it onto the floor, so overall, she seemed to like it.  For CJ (6 years old) and me, it was not much of a hit.  I scraped as much of the mustard off as I could and was able to eat it, and CJ only tried a tiny taste of each thing.  We both ended up eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for dinner.  When my husband got home, he ate what was left of it and said it was good…but he likes mustard.

So mixed reviews for this recipe.  If you like mustard, you might like this recipe.  I almost used Spicy Brown and then decided against it.  Maybe it would’ve worked better?

Let me know if you try it and how it goes over in your house!

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

