Giving Thanks for Food

Picture from “Grace (prayer)” in Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grace_%28prayer%29)

Growing up Catholic, saying grace before every meal was commonplace…well, not just commonplace…required.  We always did it, no exceptions.  Even now, when I visit my parents’ house, the meals are preceded by

Bless us, oh Lord, and these Thy gifts, which we are about the receive, from Thy bounty, through Christ our Lord.  Amen.

Somewhere over the years, I lost the habit of blessing food before consuming it.  It’s not something I think of, but it’s definitely something I need to be more mindful about.  If I believe I have enough because of God, then God is responsible for providing the food I eat.  He is the reason I don’t have to worry about it.  The least I can do is show some gratefulness.

I hope that you are better about this than I am, but if you’re currently not saying any form of grace, then let’s be more thoughtful at meal times and give thanks where thanks is due.  Even if you don’t believe in a higher power, pausing for a moment and being grateful for what you have is good for your overall well-being, so let’s all take a moment and be thankful that we have food to eat and that, hopefully, we have people to share and enjoy it with.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

