21-Day Tummy Recipe: Beef and Red Quinoa-Stuffed Eggplant

I’ve been doing pretty good about trying out some of the diet recipes this week, so here’s another one I tried, except that it was actually “Beef and Rice-Stuffed Eggplant.”  If you haven’t noticed, I often sub (or forget) ingredients.  This time, I used brown rice simply because I thought I had quinoa in the cupboard, but I apparently had used it all up.  Ada is a huge quinoa fan, so I should’ve known we were out.  I also forgot to add grapes because I was just way too excited to get to the part about stuffing the eggplant.  Oh well.

Beef and Rice Quinoa-Stuffed Eggplant (A Phase 2 Recipe)

4 small eggplants (I used 3 to save some money.)
1 3/4 cups water
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup instant brown rice
3/4 pound lean ground beef (I used a pound.)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I reduced this greatly, probably by half, because none of us like a strong cinnamon flavor in savory dishes.)
3/4 teaspoon salt (I didn’t measure.  I just added salt at various stages of the cooking process.)
1 can crushed tomatoes
20 red seedless grapes, halved (Again, I forgot these and just ate grapes on the side.)
1 Tablespoon chia seeds

Directions:  (This is the way I did it, not the way it’s written in the original recipe.)

  1. Halve the eggplants.  Scoop out the middle, leaving a slight edge.  Dice up the scooped out eggplant.
  2. Placed the eggplant halves cut side down on a baking sheet.  Add half cup water, and place in a 400 degree preheated oven.  Bake for 15 minutes.
  3. While the eggplants are cooking, heat the oil, add the beef and season with some salt and cinnamon.
  4. Cook until brown and then add the eggplant and 1/4 cup of water.  Cook for a few minutes before adding the rice, the tomatoes, and 1 cup of water.
  5. Bring to a boil.  Cover, and simmer for 10-15 minutes.  (After this, you would add the grapes if you wanted to.)
  6. Fill each of the eggplant shells with the beef and rice mixture.  Bake for 10 minutes.
  7. Sprinkle with chia seeds.

I have to say that it was pretty good.  For me, it was edible.  Ada, as always, ate it up.  CJ, who normally doesn’t eat what we’re eating, even ate most of his, and of course, my husband thought it was pretty good, too.  He thought it probably needed the grapes, though, for sweetness, so although I’m not in a rush to try it again, it might be worth trying with the grapes and the quinoa, the way it was intended to be made.

Let me know if you try it, if you tried anything different, and how it went over at your house!

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

