Quieting the Mind

It’s not an easy thing to do some nights.  I know that I can lie in bed sometimes, even when I’m really tired and especially when I’m overly tired, replaying the day, creating tomorrow’s to-do list.  That’s why I really enjoyed this article:  “5 Ways to Meditate Every Day.”

At night, when I’m in bed and ready to sleep, as recommended in the article for one type of meditation, I count each breath in and each breath out up to 4, and I keep repeating this.  It’s easy for other thoughts to creep in, though, so that’s when I take this advice from the article:

visualize that you’re tossing all of the things that are cluttering your brain into a trash can.

There’s actually a little trash can at the end of my bed, so I picture myself tossing the thoughts into it.

It used to take me a half hour or more to fall asleep some nights (or in the middle of the night when I wake up or one of my children wakes me up).  Now, I fall asleep in what seems like no time at all.

So try giving some nighttime meditation a chance.  I’ve been doing it for a couple weeks now, and it’s been a lifesaver on nights with sick kids and frequent wakings.  You might also read the Parents’ magazine article about meditation and give some of the other ways of incorporating meditation into your day a try, too.  Let me know how it goes and what you find to be your most helpful and/or restorative form of meditation.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

