Keeping a gratitude jar

Someone on Facebook shared the idea of a grateful jar.  It’s not really a new idea to write down things that you’re grateful for each day, but I liked the idea of keeping them in a jar and reading them at the end of the year on New Year’s Eve.

I decided to give it a try, but instead of one jar, my son and I made a jar for me, for him, and for my husband.  CJ has been learning about “filling people’s buckets” in school, so this goes along nicely with that.  He will really be able to physically see how certain actions fill his jar, and hopefully, he learn what types of things he can do that would fill other people’s jars/buckets.

It was a pretty easy task.  I just took some small mason jars, since that’s what we had on hand, and I cut up colored pieces of paper into eighths.

I traced around the inside of the jar lid, and we cut out circles to write our names on and glue to the lid.

DSCN0141

Then, we taped pieces of paper to the side that said, “What filled your bucket today?”

CJ and I practiced by writing the date on one side and then the thing that filled our bucket on the other side.  CJ wrote, “We went to the mall,” and I wrote, “CJ helped make the gratitude jars.”  We folded them up and put them in each of our respective jars.

DSCN0147

I can’t wait to watch each of our jars fill up.  I think it will be a good reminder that even though the year will no doubt be filled with negative experiences, which are often the things we remember, we should be thankful for all the good experiences we’ve had.

Let’s keep track of those things throughout the year that make us happy and that “fill our buckets.”  Even if you don’t keep them on pieces of paper in a jar, write them down and keep them.  It will be fun at the end of the year and maybe even years later to read about all the blessings in your life from 2015.

Happy New Year!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

