Decluttering

I am a bit of a pack rat…and a bit oblivious to messes.  That’s not to say that I don’t like things to be clean.  I just think there’s a lot of other things, sometimes more important things, that I’d rather be doing than cleaning.  Of course, with two kids, things quickly get out of hand, and the house is wrecked.

Around the New Year, someone shared a link to a Declutter 365 calendar, so I decided to give it a try.

January is all about the kitchen, so I’ve been working on the “missions” to get the kitchen straightened up and decluttered.  One of the first challenges was to get the counters as empty as possible, which for us, was a HUGE challenge that required cleaning cabinets, reorganizing the pantry, and shuffling things around to different drawers and shelves.  Doing all of these things actually completed the missions for other days, so I haven’t been doing them in order by any means.  They’re also supposed to take about 15 minutes, but most of them have been requiring more time than that.  I generally do several of them on the weekends or maybe one or two during the week while I’m cooking dinner.  Now, I’m proud to say that we have a clear counter and a mostly clear kitchen table, and every night or so, I make sure to clear them off again so that they stay that way and don’t get out of hand.

It’s been lovely to have prepping space, a space to put grocery bags while I put things away, and a place for all of us to actually eat dinner together!

As for the decluttering part, although the kitchen didn’t have a lot of things to get rid of, these challenges have definitely made the kitchen an easier place to cook and eat in, which is great.

If you feel like your house is always out of sorts or that you could just stand to get rid of some stuff, then consider trying Declutter 365.  There are links on the calendar that provide details, tips, and information for almost every mission.  Breaking everything into tiny tasks makes it more manageable, and you don’t have to do the missions on the exact day they’re listed.  I just print out the calendar and X them out as I finish them.  My goal is to finish most by the end of each month.  Will you join me?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

