Doing the best of diets

At the end of last year, I talked about the concept from a book called Eat Move Sleep about choosing the healthiest and best part of diets that you’ve done in the past and doing those things instead of following any one diet.  As I thought about it and talked to others about it, I realized I hadn’t really hit the surface with some of those diets.  Here’s an updated list of the “best of diets”:

Atkins

  • helps avoid having too many carbs, especially refined ones like flour, pasta, and sugar

(Gestational) Diabetic Diet

  • opts for a balance of carbs, protein, and fat to reduce insulin spikes
  • completely eliminates sweets and desserts

Weight Watchers

  • requires tracking of food (in the form of a journal/point totals)
  • helps with portion control
  • allows “cheating” as long as you have to points to use on the food–in other words, no food is off limits so that you don’t feel deprived
  • encourages exercise since you can earn extra (activity) points by working out
  • encourages fruits and vegetables because they are “free” foods that don’t cost any points
  • requires weekly weigh-ins to track progress

As you can see, Weight Watchers (WW) really does have a lot of good things going for it.  I thought about joining up, but since we were trying to get out of debt as soon as possible, I couldn’t rationalize spending $17 a month to lose weight.  Luckily, I’ve done it a couple of times and know the basics of it, and with a little help from the Internet, I’ve been able to do it for free.  (Stay tuned for a future post with the details.)  I’ve also been avoiding sweets completely except if it’s a holiday or a birthday (so less than once a month), and I haven’t had pop or diet pop at all since January 1st–cutting out artificially sweetened drinks or things that are mostly sugar.  I still have things with sugar like ketchup or jelly, but in limited amounts.

By doing these things, the goal I set on January 1st was to lose 10% of my weight by Easter.   Do you think I’ll do it?  Or maybe I’ve already done it?  Wait and see!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

