Stir Fry

Since I’m doing Weight Watchers (and so is my husband finally!), having vegetables and fruits is a must.  They’re zero points, which means I can load up lunches and dinners with them without overdoing it on points.

The easiest meal to make that includes lots of veggies is a stir fry.  In a previous post, I talked about 3 ways to add more vegetables to meals and even showed how I added them to stir fry.  It’s always a delicious meal, so I thought I’d share my secret.  My recipe is inspired by an infographic I found on Pinterest.  Yes, it’s true.  Of course, I added my own twist to it.

My favorite part is the list of stir-fry sauces:

stir-fry-sauces

To make the sauce pretty much zero points, I use Stevia (3 packets) instead of brown sugar.    I’ve tried the basic sauce and the black pepper sauce (super spicy!), and I always add red pepper flakes.  I’ve done chicken, pork, and steak.  All good.  And when I do steak, I grate some fresh (well, actually frozen) ginger.

I don’t own a wok, so I don’t follow the exact cooking instructions on the infographic either.  I usually mix up the sauce while I’m defrosting the meat.  Then, I slice up the meat and add it to the sauce to marinate while I get some rice cooking.  I add a little oil to the pan (and more red pepper flakes :)), and heat it up a little before adding the bowl of meat and sauce.  Once it starts bubbling, I stir it, lower the heat a little, and cover it to let it simmer.  That’s when I prep the veggies I’m going to add.  Last time, I put some carrots and romaine into my Ninja and chopped them up.  I also threw in a couple frozen shredded zucchini cubes and, of course, my go-to stir-fry veggie:  broccoli slaw.   I generally wait to throw in the vegetables until the meat is pretty well done.  Then I mix everything up, make sure everything is covered with the sauce, and I cover the pan again.  I check on it every few minutes, stirring it around a bit, and then covering it back up.  I keep it on low heat until the other parts of the meal (like the rice) are done.  Simple and delicious!

So give the infographic a try, and make some stir fry.  You can go directly to Cook Smarts and get a nice printable version for free.  In fact, I downloaded it, printed it, and keep it in a binder for easy reference!  Let me know how your stir fry adventures go!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

RafCustomCosplay

Custom Cosplay, Costumes, and Props

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

