God’s Will – and the next President of the United States

Over the past year or two, I’ve really been thinking more about God’s will for me.  I’m not sure I’m where I’m meant to be, and I’m not sure I’m headed in the right direction.  For now, I’m kind of floating along, looking for signs, waiting for an obvious push in the right direction, and in the meantime, living life day by day.

Of course, also on my mind right now is the election.  How can it not be?  The flow of shares on Facebook related to the candidates are endless, and NPR is constantly doing stories on each of the candidates, what the primary loss or win means, who’s still in the race, and who might be dropping out…not to mention what to do about Mr. Drumpf.

After a recent discussion with a coworker, as I lie in bed trying to take a much needed nap, a thought came to my head…

Why be so concerned about which candidate will win?  God will take care of it.  Whichever candidate wins is God’s will.

But I realized that’s not right.  What will happen will happen, but that doesn’t mean that I’m not meant to play a role in how it happens.

I’ve been reading Mother Angelica’s Little Book of Life Lessons and Everyday Spirituality by Raymond Arroyo, and I’m currently in the chapter about God’s will (which is perhaps why it’s on my mind more than usual), and she proposes 3 questions to check if something might be God’s will or not.  So I thought to myself, which candidate is God’s will?  Well, what’s the test for it?  The first is “Is it consistent with the Bible?”*

I was overwhelmed for a moment thinking that it would take forever to go through the Bible and determine this, but I quickly knew that lovelove was the answer.  (It always is.)  The main message of the new testament is love.

So which candidate is most likely God’s will?  The candidate that most embodies love.

Which candidate is patient?  Which is kind?  Which candidate does not envy or boast?  Is not proud or rude?  Is not self-seeking or easily angered?  Which candidate does not delight in evil but instead rejoices with the truth?  Who protects, trusts, hopes, and perseveres?

There’s your candidate.

(I think mine passes the test.  Does yours?)

If you’re Christian and want to vote consistently with your faith, then vote for love.  Forget the lines of republican or democrat.  Forget liberal or conservative.  Forget self.  Love others, and love God.  Let that guide your decision.

And God bless.

 

*Note about the question above:  Actually, in the book, this is not the first question.  The first question is “Does it violate any of the Commandments?”  However, I was lying in bed and didn’t have the book with me, so I believe that I was drawing partly from what I remembered from another source.  The idea is the same, though–is it consistent with what we’re told in the Bible?  Jesus said the two greatest commandments are to love God with all your heart and to love your neighbor as yourself.  Love is always the answer.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

One Badass Life

Live the Life You Deserve

eachandeverycrumb

Free samples before any purchase because one taste and I know you'll love Each and Every Crumb.

My Clean Eating Experiment

How I Changed The Way My Family Eats

